#Tips For Healthy Long Hair

After my last post on hair trends for S/S 2012, I received several requests on Facebook to write a post that focuses on how to get long, healthy hair. I heard you and I’m happy to do a healthy hair post just for you.

When I lived in Miami and throughout college, I had short spiked hair. It was easier to style in the South Florida heat. And with a busy college course load, I needed something that was easy to maintain as well.

My hair in Miami

My hair in college, 2007

on a photo shoot in Miami, 2005

Short hair is so much easier to manage. Now and then I have this internal hair struggle, if you will, on whether I should go back to sporting short locks, especially now as a busy mom. If I did, I’d get a bob, like Yasmin Cruz–I admire her haircut, she’s gorgeous!

I had short hair up until I met Edward in March of 2010. Christmas 2009, I had one of those internal struggles so I went to my hairdresser, Reta, and asked her to cut my hair. It was a pixie cut and it was fun and cool, and I loved it. I have been growing my hair out ever since.

Fast forward to 2012…

My hair today…

Here are some tips to gorgeous locks I have picked up along the way:

  1. Do not bleach or color your hair yourself; seek a professional to do it. They use good quality professional products that won’t damage your hair.
  2. If you have extensions, take them out NOW! Extensions are so horrible for your hair. I used to get extensions all the time, especially during my awkward “Imgrowingoutmyhair” phase. Extensions damage and cause your hair to break when you have to take them out. I’d say get a wig if you need length for a special occasion or girls night out. If you must get extensions, get the clip-ins.
  3. Use quality products. Quality products are so important to getting healthy hair because it’s the foundation for shinny, voluminous hair that’s strong and healthy over time.
  4. Do not do your own relaxer or perm. I’d admit I used to relax my own hair at home using different products to see which one relaxed my new growth the best. Much like #1, seek professional hair stylist who uses professional relaxers and perms to give you the best results. Sure it’s expensive but you’re only going in every 2-3 months so it’s worth it. And it’s a misconception that certain relaxers are made for black hair, so false. Great salons have the best no lye, all-natural relaxers that will leave your hair silky smooth.
  5. And last but certainly not least, if you want your hair to grow, leave it alone. Wash and deep condition with good products that works for your hair type. If you find a shampoo/conditioner that is working for you, stick with it no matter how many times they try to sell you something else at the salons or TV commercials.

For those who don’t know, a relaxer is the equivalent of a perm for Africans/African-American, but instead of curls, our hair gets straighter.

My hair today

To achieve long, healthier hair, make sure you seek professional help for color and chemical treatments, use great moisturizing shampoos + conditioners, avoid extensions. Deep conditioning with moisturizing conditioner is hugely important in retaining moisture in hair; therefore, avoiding frizz dry hair that could break easily.

What’s your favorite hairstyle: short–pixie cut, a Bob, or long–wavy, curly locks?

xo,

Glor

One thought on “#Tips For Healthy Long Hair

  1. Pingback: Four Hair Products For Healthy Hair « dreamL♥VEbelieve

say what you need to say...

