Baby and me at 33 weeks

This post is long overdue, but I’m glad it’s not our little princess who’s overdue. You can’t imagine how many people are anticipating her arrive in November. My side of the family is not as massive as the Vargas clan. I’m not sure how many there are exactly, but my boyfriend tells me there are many many Vargases in Los Angeles all waiting to shower our little pumpkin with love.

Two weekends ago my best friends Cary and Christina did a fantastic job as co-hostess for my baby shower and everything just came out great. The food, the company and the games were awesome. We all had a great time together laughing and oohing and aahing over cute little pink baby stuff. We received the most amazing gifts from everyone, including family members who couldn’t come, like Auntie Josie and Frances out in L.A. who sent hand-knitted blankets, burb cloths and hats. The most amazing is this yellow, hand crochet blanket with a hat that Aunt Frances made–I absolutely love it. My mom got us this amazing Fisher Price Cradle n Swing – My Little Snugabunny. Everyone we’ve talked to swears by this swing, so we’re hoping to put it to use.

Some cell phone pics from the shower

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

November is just around the corner of October and what that means is everything is happening fast and there’s definitely more business to attend to, like completing those birthing classes, submitting our pre-admission form to the hospital,  selecting a pediatrician, getting the nursery and bassinet ready, washing her cute little outfits, … the list just goes on and on. And let’s not forget those last weekly doctor’s appointment at the end. We’ve got one scheduled for a couple of weeks and then it’s weekly appointments and countdown to baby’s arrival.

Thankfully though the baby’s got some more development to do between now and then. Thebump.com says:

Baby’s now the size of a honeydew!

Things are heating up inside: Baby may grow up to a full inch this week alone, and her brain is developing like crazy. Pretty soon, she’ll be able to coordinate breathing with sucking and swallowing. Also, her bones are hardening, and she’s started to keep her eyes open when she’s awake. All I’m thinking when I read this is “That’s-so-amazing” and I can’t wait to see her outside the womb!

What been going with Mom-to-be

I have definitely grown to be more tired especially at night. Just when I thought there’s no way my belly could get any bigger it seems to prove me wrong. I don’t know how she could be the size of honeydew when I feel like I’m carrying around a huge beach ball! And lately her kicks have been out of this world. Sometimes she stretches and moves so much that I literally say “what’s going on in there?!” No, seriously, she’s got some strong legs this one. I’m also making sure that my hospital bag is packed with all the necessities and I keep reading the hospital booklet on preparing for labor and delivery to make sure we’re completely prepared. What do you know, I’m busier at work now than I’ve been in the last six or seven months. Which may or may not work in my favor when I propose to my boss about working from home post-maternity. But I’ve been talking to some other moms who’ve been through this before and doing some research online and well, I’m hoping for the best outcome. So stay tuned…

I have dreams about having her almost every other day. Oh, and she hiccups at least once a day after I eat or drink water. It’s the cutest little hiccups I’ve ever seen/felt; quite amazing actually. I read baby hiccups in the womb is a great sign of a healthy baby!

7 more weeks to go until she arrives! Omg, are we ready?

–Glor


say what you need to say...

